Search posts
17 final candidates selected for 2020 ‘Future Mobility of the Year’
2020-07-20 15:52:40

17 final candidates selected for 2020 ‘Future Mobility of the Year’



July 20th- Seoul. Korea - Future Mobility of the Year (FMOTY) that recognizes the best concept cars of the year announces 17 final candidates for 2020 FMOTY Awards,

The Graduate School for Green Transportation at KAIST announces 17 finalists model from Audi, BMW, Citroen, Honda, Hyundai, Kia, Mercedes-Benz, Scania, Toyota have been shortlisted among the 71 concept cars that made the initial cut in 2019. The winner will announced at the awards ceremony in July 28th at KAIST.

The awards will be given to concept cars that debut at international motor shows in three categories—Private, Public & Commercial, and Personal. Each of these categories isolates a specific contribution to the innovative services and transportation technologies that shape the future of mobility. The awards are judged by an esteemed panel of motor journalists to ensure a fair judging process befitting for prestigious awards. The panelists evaluate social values and innovative contributions of concept cars to fuel the next development of future cars.

Details can be found on the official website of FMOTY (


[Reference data]

①Introduce Organizer

▶The Graduate school of Green transportation.

The Graduate School for Green Transportation in KAIST has been founded to produce the world's top transportation specialists who develop state-of-the-art sustainable transport technologies and take the lead in the future car industry.



The Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST) was established in 1971 as the nation’s first research-oriented graduate school in science and technology. Despite its relatively short history, KAIST ranked 43rd in the 2015 World University Rankings and earned Asia's Most Innovative University for 2016, published by QS and Reuters, respectively.


②Judging Committee(Name/Media Title):

▶Carlos Payo Calderón / Autopista(Spain) ▶Carl Cunanan / C magazine(Philippines) ▶Chacky Ip / The Hong Kong Automobile Association(Hong Kong) ▶Charlie Turner / BBC Top gear(UK) ▶Frank Markus / Motor trend(US) ▶Georg Kacher / Car Magazine(Germany) ▶Hirohisa Kaneko / motor journalist(Japan) ▶Marchetti Tricamo / Kookmin University(Italy) ▶Jun MIao, MJ car show(China) ▶Kibeom Kim / ROADTEST(Korea) ▶Koro Okazaki / Car & Driver Japan(Japan) ▶Paul Horrell / BBC Top gear(UK) ▶Sierra Yeh / TCar(Taiwan) ▶Yasuhisa Shimashita / motor analyst(Japan) ▶Yongjoo Kwon / Auto Times(Korea) ▶Zeca Chaves / Quatro Rodas(Brazil)


③The 17 finalists for ‘Future Mobility of the Year’

▶*Private mobility: Audi, BMW, Citroen, Fiat, Honda, Hyundai, Kia, Lexus, Mercedes-Benz, Toyota(11 models).

Audi AI-TRAIL quattro Concept/ BMW vision M next concept/ Citroen Ami One Concept/ Fiat Centoventi Concept


Honda e Concept/ Hyundai Vision T Concept/ Kia Habaniro Concept/ Lexus LF-30 Electrified Concept


Mercedes-Benz Concept GLB/ Mercedes-Benz Vision Simplex Concept / Toyota Mirai Concept


▶*Public & Commercial mobility: Hyundai, Scania, Toyota (3 models)

Scania AXL / Toyota APM / Hyundai NEPTUNE HDC-6


▶*Personal mobility: Audi, Hyundai, Toyota, (3 models)

Hyundai e-scooter/ Audi e-scooter /Toyota Walking BEV

ⓒ 2019 Future Mobility of The Year Awards.
All rights reserved.